Himawari Training Pre-Session Survey Feedback

Himawari Training Pre-Session Survey Feedback

by Bodo Zeschke -
Number of replies: 12

Just to let you know that I have just recorded the first session "How the Himawari-8 training was conducted, including classroom and remote sessions". I still need to edit out "umms, ahhs, .... etc." but it should be online soon.

Yesterday I checked your responses to the Himawari Training Pre-Session Survey Feedback. There were 7 replies and I studied these over a nice cup of hot coffee in my fav cafe last night. (this morning I noticed that there were 10 replies .... nice).

Based on my study of the 7 responses and for your reference I have matched your queries to the sessions that I will be presenting. Please let me know if I have done this correctly. Your feedback is appreciated.

Session 1: How the Himawari-8 training was conducted, including classroom and remote sessions

Questions:

How much time did it take you to compile training materials? (this is an interesting question and I promise to answer this in my next post - I have a very original answer for this, I promise)

What kind of data did you use?

Please give some detail about new satellite training challenges.

What training is available that is operationally focussed and available for reuse?

What was your training approach, in terms of pedagogical methods and tools?

Session 2: Collaboration with Satellite Champions and other Stakeholders

Questions:

How did you communicate the new capabilities with users, what was the communication channel?

Application of the new capabilities of Himawari-8 in day-to-day forecasting.

Session 3: Evaluation of the impact of the training on the effective use of Himawari-8 data by WMO Region V and II Stakeholders.

Questions:

What do you find more effective in satellite training: self paced online study or classroom sessions?