The start of my research to a theoretical background of training with Simulators

The start of my research to a theoretical background of training with Simulators

by Heleen ter Pelkwijk -
Number of replies: 0

Dear All, 

Almost by accident I started training my forecasters with the help of a simulator. They love it, because it is an hands-on training, so finally something else then sitting statically in a classroom. At the same time it is a bit scary too, because people who do it the first time don’t know what to expect.

All I have done so far has been the result of interest in computer aided learning, inspirational conversations with training staff of KNMI customers who already had some experience and my intuition. For me this session is a great opportunity to see get some theoretical background, get some new and fresh ideas for the future and learn more about it. And what I most looking forward to is to help each other, make the training & assessment with simulators even more effective and to make plans together for the future.

First the resources I already had:

1)     A special bulletin on Training & Simulation from the ATP network. From what I have seen at an exercise from the Dutch Air Traffic Control is that they are miles ahead of us. Simulator training is part of their assessment structure too. This bulletin gives you a view into their world.

The things I took from it:

-       Page 12 the paragraph: Simulation for Controllers: Think “out of the box” …also practice things which are less common to happen to prepare your people for unexpected things.

-       Page 13: Don’t be afraid to train on a simulator with a different look than your own environment. It is just like driving a car. Your present car is probably not the same make and model as the one you had your driving lessons in.